A steering committee of teachers, administrators, and community members met on August 16, 2019, to begin the planning for the Central Texas Area Alliance of Black School Educators.  The initial plan was to invite representatives from the cities of Belton, Copperas Cove, Fort Hood, Harker Heights, Killeen, Nolanville, Salado, and Temple to ensure coverage of central Texas.

On February 8, 2020, the newest affiliate of TABSE was chartered at Kids' University with state leaders John Washington and Phyllis Williams officiating. The leaders installed the newest officers and charged them with leading the way:  Angenet Wilkerson (President), Sharita Herrera (President-Elect), Minerva Cotton (Recording Secretary), Wayne Moore (Corresponding Secretary), Josh Clements (Financial Secretary), Cantresa Scineaux (Treasurer), Nicola Grader (Historian), Philemon Brown (Chaplain), Brian Cotton (Parliamentarian), and Brenda Adams (Advisor).

The primary goal of CENTEX-AABSE is to exercise leadership in providing valuable professional services and strategies to institutions, agencies, and communities engaged in creating an environment in which students, particularly black students, can achieve academic excellence.
Beginning with the 2022-2023 School Year, CENTEX-AABSE will expand its membership to include school districts within the Region XII service area.